ors_slim_banner_athletics.jpg ors_slim_banner_bikes.jpg ors_slim_banner_cycle.jpg ors_slim_banner_velodrm.jpg ors_slim_banner_bike_race.jpg ors_slim_banner_kids_run.jpg ors_slim_banner_netball.jpg ors_slim_banner_row.jpg ors_slim_banner_rowing.jpg ors_slim_banner_shooting.jpg ors_slim_banner_swim.jpg ors_slim_banner_soccer.jpg ors_slim_banner_stadium.jpg

Cycling action at the Super-Drome

Cycling action at the Super-Drome


High-level cycling action will move from the road to the track after another successful Santos Tour Down Under.

Australia's best cyclists will compete at the Adelaide Super-Drome at the 2014 Subaru Cycling Australia National Track Championships.
20 South Australian riders, including World, Olympic and Commonwealth Games champion Anna Meares, will be battling it out for selection for next month’s World Track Championships in Colombia.

Anna will be joined by other hometown favorites, Jack Bobridge, Nettie Edmondson and Glenn O’Shea as South Australia battles the rest of the nation at the Adelaide Super-Drome at Gepps Cross.

Meares will be racing in the 500m time trial – an event in which she was the first female to go under 33 seconds and subsequently break the world record – at the world cup in Mexico last year.

There will be two South Australian senior men's teams in the team pursuit and this will include a welcome return to the event for Olympic silver medallist Jack Bobridge, as well as Alex Edmondson, Luke Davison, Miles Scotson, Josh Harrison and Glenn O’Shea, who were all part of the National Australian Team Pursuit squad that won all rounds of the world cup.

Brother and sister Alex and Nettie Edmondson, who were both recently crowned with the National Omnium title, will be looking to bring home medals in the individual pursuit and the scratch race.

The event will also be a chance for the U19 riders to show their potential for selection to the Junior World Track Championships, which will be held in Korea in August. Callum Scotson will lead one of the two teams in the U19 Team Pursuit as the current Junior World Champion in this event. The experienced Dan Ellis, who recently made a very successful comeback to the track following time off after the Beijing Olympics, will lead the men's team sprint.

Racing highlights will be shown on SBS ONE from 5.30pm to 6.30pm on Friday 31 January, Saturday 1 February and Sunday 2 February.

South Australian riders taking part in the 2014 Subaru Cycling Australia Track National Championships:

Seniors (14 male and 6 female)

Jai Angsuthasawit
Rikki Belder
Ed Bissaker
Jack Bobridge
Pat Constable
Luke Davison
Alex Edmondson
Annette Edmondson
Dan Ellis
Matthew Glaetzer
Breanna Hargrave
Josh Harrison
Tom Kaesler
Anna Meares
Stephanie Morton
Glenn O’Shea
Alex Radzikiewicz
Miles Scotson
Holly Takos
George Tansley

U19 (13 male and 4 female)

Tom Allford
Nick Anderson
Isabella Dashorst
Carla Franson
Kyle Franson
Alex Hamam
Jack Hogan
Matt Holmes
William Little
Alexandra Manly
Danielle Mckinnirey
Alexander Porter
Derek Radzikiwicz
Alex Rendoulis
Callum Scotson
Jonathan Stephens
Rohan Wight