ors_slim_banner_athletics.jpg ors_slim_banner_bikes.jpg ors_slim_banner_cycle.jpg ors_slim_banner_velodrm.jpg ors_slim_banner_bike_race.jpg ors_slim_banner_kids_run.jpg ors_slim_banner_netball.jpg ors_slim_banner_row.jpg ors_slim_banner_rowing.jpg ors_slim_banner_shooting.jpg ors_slim_banner_swim.jpg ors_slim_banner_soccer.jpg ors_slim_banner_stadium.jpg

Local legends inducted into SA Sports Hall of Fame

Local legends inducted into SA Sports Hall of Fame

Sports players

Five local sporting icons have been inducted into the South Australian Sport Hall of Fame.

Kathryn Harby-Williams, Jack Oatey, Ken McGregor, Sir James Hardy, and Jenny Williams last night became the latest South Australian sporting heroes to be honoured for their achievements and commitment to South Australian sport.

Since its inception in 2010, 38 local sporting greats have now been inducted into the South Australian Sport Hall of Fame.

Kathryn Harby-Williams had a significant influence over the game of netball in South Australia. She captained her country to great success, and remains committed to her sport through her service on the Netball Australia board.

By focussing on skills and handball, Jack Oatey changed the way we played football in South Australia. He won SANFL premierships as a player and coach, including the famous five in a row with Sturt from 1966 to 1970.

Ken McGregor was one of Australia’s finest ever tennis players, teaming with the great Frank Sedgman to win the first men’s doubles grand slam in 1951, as well as having a distinguished Davis Cup career, and winning the men’s singles at the then Australian Championships in 1952.

Sir James Hardy is a sailing legend, having competed at the Olympic Games in 1964 and 1968 before skippering three America’s Cup challenges in 1970, 1974, and 1980 – and then helped John Bertrand and Alan Bond to bring the Cup down under in 1983.

Jenny Williams represented, captained, and coached Australia in lacrosse, including winning the world championship in 1986, as well as representing, captaining and coaching South Australia to a record run of national lacrosse titles. Jenny also represented her state in five other sports, including soccer, cricket, and Australian Rules Football.

The five were inducted during the Sport SA awards ceremony and Channel Seven Sports Star of the Year presentation at the Adelaide Entertainment Centre on Friday evening, 22 November.