ors_slim_banner_athletics.jpg ors_slim_banner_bikes.jpg ors_slim_banner_cycle.jpg ors_slim_banner_velodrm.jpg ors_slim_banner_bike_race.jpg ors_slim_banner_kids_run.jpg ors_slim_banner_netball.jpg ors_slim_banner_row.jpg ors_slim_banner_rowing.jpg ors_slim_banner_shooting.jpg ors_slim_banner_swim.jpg ors_slim_banner_soccer.jpg ors_slim_banner_stadium.jpg

South Australia down but not out in Imparja Cup

South Australia down but not out in Imparja Cup

Imparaja Cup

South Australia's attempt to claim its first ever Imparja Cup nosedived after an opening round loss to the Northern Territory.

Sent into bat by the Northern Territory, South Australia could only muster 103 runs off its 20 overs at Albrecht Oval, Alice Springs.

Marcus McGregor-Cassady top scored with 24 runs from 29 deliveries including one boundary, supported by Ayden McGregor-Baptista’s 20 runs and Russell Coulthard’s 23 runs from 24 balls.

Northern Territory won the match with four balls to spare, amassing 105 runs for the loss of six wickets. Luke Lavender was the best of the South Australian bowlers grabbing two wickets, and conceding just 10 runs from his allotted four overs.

South Australia can register its first win when they take on both New South Wales and then Western Australia in their next two games.

The Imparja Cup was the brainchild of Indigenous cricketers Shane and Mervyn Franey from Alice Springs and Ross Williams from Tennant Creek.

On Australia Day 1994 the first Imparja cricket game was played in an effort to promote Indigenous cricket in the Northern Territory amongst family and friends. By 2001 the first State/Territory competition was played won by Tasmania.

Celebrating its 21st year the 2014 Imparja Cup, Alice Springs hosts over 40 Indigenous teams representing every corner of Australia, ranging from men’s and women’s teams, regional communities to school teams.

The week-long tournament run from Sunday 9th February 2014 until Saturday 15th February 2014.

The success of the Imparja Cup can be measured by the fact that at least three players, Ben Abbatangelo (Melbourne Stars), Hayden Collard (Perth Scorchers) and Ryan Lees (Hobart Hurricanes), played at the 2013 Imparja Cup, where their talents with the bat and ball were recognised before signing KFC T20 Big Bash League rookie contracts in 2014.